Mixing new chickens. Please advise.

• 5 Replies

Littlemisspepperpot

Mixing new chickens. Please advise.
« on: September 07, 2021, 16:17 »
Hello, I'm brand new to keeping poultry.  In fact, I haven't bought them yet which leads me to my question and I hope you can help.
I wanted 4 Bantams but the breeder only has 2. Another breeder has 2 that they would be happy to sell. Would it be a bad idea to have 2 pairs from different breeders in my new coop as in would they fight from the off? New coop new friends. Would it all be too much for them? I'd really appreciate some advice. Thank you x

New shoot

• Global Moderator
Re: Mixing new chickens. Please advise.
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2021, 16:39 »
If both sets arrive together the coop will be neutral ground and you have a better chance of them settling in without too much fighting.  If one set are installed first, they will claim the coop.

There is no hard and fast rules with chicken pecking orders, so prepare for the worst and that will take a lot of the stress out of the situation.  You can get away with bantams in a rabbit hutch with a run underneath it.  I used to have one that I bought for very little money on Preloved and it did intermittent service for years.  Other options I have seen are a pop up rabbit run and a small homemade box for them to sleep in or a large dog crate that is covered for weather protection and taken into a shed or garage at night.

They will eventually form a flock, but having spare housing on hand makes life a lot easier. If you have a terrible bully, isolate her in the hutch and let the rest bond for a few days. If both sets fight, split them and introduce slowly in stages when you can referee and step in  :)

grinling

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2021, 21:01 »
I would always keep birds separate for a few weeks as you do not know if they carry any illness. It gives you a good chance to check them over.