What should I paint my chicken house with?

• 12 Replies

Henlady

• Experienced Member
What should I paint my chicken house with?
« on: February 13, 2010, 17:30 »
I'm just starting out and now have my hen house about to start building a larger run to it and hopefully get some hens in a couple of weeks.  I wanted to give the house a couple of extra coats before they move in and I have read of people using cresote to kill the mites.  Would this be better than a cuprinol preserver and my main concern is, is it safe.

janet12000

Re: What should I paint my chicken house with?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2010, 17:39 »
Creasote is banned isn't it?

Henlady

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2010, 17:53 »
thats what i thought but i have read posts of people painting their chicken houses with it to kill mites and i was confused as it does stink as well.

janet12000

« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2010, 18:02 »
I have picked up loads of tips on here.
One is that when you have built your house and run, seal up all the gaps in the wood using buliders caulk (sp?) This gives the red mite less places to hide in.
I'm currently making a new house and run and have done this.

karlooben

« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2010, 18:38 »
u need not to worry about painting the inside of the house as the paint fumes could maybe damage your girls  spraying with red mite spray of poulty shield on a regular basis will help pervent any red mite investion .

protecting the outside of the house is a must u can use cupinarol ducks back as it has added wax but dont do what i did  :lol: :lol: an paint it on when the day is cold an damp it doesnt dry to well .
"Until one has loved an animal, part of their soul remains unawakened."

grumpydad

« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2010, 21:05 »
lol, wait till the warm spring days looby,...lol

hillfooter

« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2010, 02:15 »