Weed killer: just how bad is it?

• 17 Replies

harveypooka

Weed killer: just how bad is it?
« on: August 07, 2011, 17:39 »
I've got a large, dull as dishwater patio that has a lot of weeds coming through. I'm in the process of building some planters to break up the space but I really don't want to re-lay the patio slabs. As a solution I'm considering (gasp!) weed killer.

I've never used weed killer before and I've heard plenty of negative things about them. But just yesterday my father-in-law told me that newer weed killers break down quite quickly in the soil, meaning they're not all that bad for the environment.

So, chat.allotment-garden.org, what's the deal with weed killers? Are they an indispensable tool for the garden or will I lose eco-warrior points if I use them?

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Weed killer: just how bad is it?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2011, 17:47 »
The ethical bit is your decision ;)
All I would say is that the EU has taken all the really nasty chemicals off the market, so any that you can buy now are 'reasonably' safe.

I would spray the weeds with glyphosate, being carefull that no spray drifts onto flowers in tubs or beds nearby.

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2011, 17:51 »
Welcome to the site.  :D

If you want to be organic then obviously weedkillers are a no-no.

If you are happy to use a weedkiller then that is entirely up to you - it's a matter of personal choice.

The weedkiller which is often used these days is glyphosate - it is systemic (gets absorbed into the system of the plant, so takes time to show its effects) and inactive upon contact with the soil / area.

You can find it combined with a contact weedkiller so you can see quickly where you've sprayed, in the Resolva brand name.