Hiya All!! Newbie here advice and guidance needed ;-)

• 3 Replies

tillymint

hello to all you lovely people i have been searching this site for the past couple of weeks and there's just so much to take in   :ohmy:

I've just picked up my key for my new allotment for which i have been on the waiting list for 2 years and i had almost given up hope of ever getting one   :D

We have 250 square metres which has lots of straw like grass growing on it and I was hoping for some advice on getting started and what to do first.  Should i dig all the grass out or treat it with weed killer?  Obviously, due to the size of our plot we're going to start at the front and work back but not take on too much at once just do a few sections at a time.

I have uploaded a photo of our plot and would be grateful for some comments and advice.

We are getting a greenhouse and shed for the site and are thinking of having sectioned beds with scaffolding boards around.  We were hoping to start off with potatoes, onions and carrots but i'm open to any advice on other vegetables to get started off with.

I am so excited and enthusiastic to get started but just dont know what to do first!!

Sorry if i have asked too many questions but this is all new to me and ive only ever grew herbs and strawberries in my garden!!!!

Thanking you in advance.

Carla x
allotment 2 75pc.jpg

peapod

• Pea Goddess
Re: Hiya All!! Newbie here advice and guidance needed ;-)
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2010, 17:49 »
Nice plot!

Its going to depend on whether you agree with using weedkiller or not. In my own humble oopinion, you have to dig it anyway to get the roots of the grass out, so if it was just me Id dig only.  

Scaffolding boards are a good idea, though you dont have to have them.  They look neat and tidy, but they can be expensive, and you can put in paths instead to break the beds into sections.