Opinions/advice on new coop, please

• 20 Replies

Chickenstreet

« on: November 15, 2007, 07:52 »
Greetings, I am new to poultry keeping and have been reading up on this and other forums and am finding all the information invaluable and quite an aid to my confidence - it's  reassuring to know there are places such as these to come for help and advice. I don't have any hens yet but have just bought a coop which should arrive today.  I intend to set everything up as well as I can before buying any birds. I would be grateful if some of you would take a look at the design of the coop and point out what you might consider to be any obvious flaws or dangers.  Personally, I am wondering if it is not too going to be too well ventilated for the cold British winter and if I should make any modifications to it - and also if it is okay to have a pop-hole which doesn't shut.  On the other hand, being new to this, I am wondering if I shouldn't just trust the designers to have gotten it right?  

Any advice or observations from the experienced chicken keepers here would be much appreciated.

My Blog:Only Us Chickens

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2007, 08:43 »
Welcome to the forum chickenstreet, nice looking coop. not sure about the lack of pop hole closure and the wire front seems a little large may get a bit drafty.  But I'm no expert & there are some really knowledgeable people on here so lets see what they have to say.
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

Selkie

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2007, 09:34 »
i'm no expert either (only had my hens for about 6 months) but i'd imagine that you would need to close the pophole thingie at night or it would be very draughty; and i know hens don't like draughts.