help!

• 7 Replies

clare1401

• chicken balti
help!
« on: July 06, 2012, 21:24 »
hi, im new to keeping chickens and have had a brown ranger, blue belle and light sussex for about six weeks, getting two eggs every day, a few have been double yolkers. this week i have found papery thin shelled eggs in odd places around the garden and in the hen house( but not in the laying box) most days. i have been told to expect the odd mishape as they are young but im getting worried as it seems to have been every day this week or so. the chickens themselves all look healthy, bright clear eyes, tail feathers up, and enjoying free ranging round the garden, free access to grit and oyster shell mix, layers pellets and get treated with corn and mealworms in the afternoon., i have been using ACV in their water every fourth week. i cant work out which chicken the odd eggs are coming from, does anyone have any suggestions please?
1 blue belle, 1 brown ranger and 1 white sussex :)

kegs

Re: help!
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2012, 10:59 »
Obviously one of them is having trouble laying hard shelled eggs.  It could just be a temporary glitch as they are new to laying, or due to the awful weather. 

You seem to be doing everything that would normally be suggested (oyster shell etc) although you could try sprinkling some poultry spice on their pellets and cut back a bit on their treats just to see if it makes a difference.  Just monitor it for a while and see what happens.

clare1401

• chicken balti
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2012, 11:11 »
thank you for the kind words. just feel a bit useless, have had so much fun from them and hate to think one of them is suffering

kegs

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2012, 11:57 »
thank you for the kind words. just feel a bit useless, have had so much fun from them and hate to think one of them is suffering