Poor old picked on Nellie :(

• 7 Replies

Carla

• Experienced Member
Poor old picked on Nellie :(
« on: September 23, 2010, 17:49 »
My fave chicken lady, Nellie, is being picked on mercilessly by the other two. They've pecked the feathers out of her back, making her bleed and she's too scared to go anywhere near them. She's sleeping on her own, away from them at the bottom of the run. I've put seperate food around the run so she can eat away from them, which she is doing, but does anyone have any other tips on how to stop this naughty behaviour before she ends up seriously injured or worse. Poor thing :( x
Also, the other 2's faces, comb and wattles are turning a lovely red, but she'd still very pale faced. Do you get pale chickens or is it a definate sign of something being wrong. Health wise she's fine, eats like a horse and scratches around all day and she's the only one that perches by choice. I'm still learning folks, so please excuse my random question tangents  ::)
Many pets, a bloke and 2 kids....help!!!

bantam novice

Re: Poor old picked on Nellie :(
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2010, 18:44 »
Hello Carla,
poor Nellie  :(,  She does seem to be having a bad time.  If she is bleeding you will need to use purple spray (gentian violet) so that it disguises the colour.  You can get it from a horsy feed type shop.  It also acts as an antiseptic.  I have heard of anti-peck sprays but others on here will have more experience of those. Good luck!
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

nicky d

• Experienced Member
  • super shane
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2010, 18:44 »