Age of my Light Sussex

• 7 Replies

Gazchook

Age of my Light Sussex
« on: April 19, 2010, 18:52 »
Hi

I am very new to chicken keeping.

Does anyone have tips on how to put an age on Light Sussex hens. I have very recently aquired two of differing ages. Neither are very old, not laying, and their combs are only just developing, a light pink colour. I have only had them 4 days having purchased them from a nearby farm park in Lincolnshire.

They are quite timid and appear not to have been handled much. Any tips on befriending would be appreciated. I dont want to start grabbing them and scaring them even more than they are.

And while i'm on a roll, they both do alternate good and bad poohs. One will be what I consider perfect, the next will be yellow and runny.

Other than all that they seem very happy, eat and drink really well, and I could stand and watch them for hours.

Thanks

Gaz
« Last Edit: April 19, 2010, 18:59 by Gazchook »

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: Age of my Light Sussex
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2010, 19:37 »
Hi Gazchook and welcome.
Poohs - if you click on this link you will find there are so many different poohs that are all considered normal  :lol:
http://chat.allotment-garden.org/13/_17568.0.html

As for their age without seeing them I couldn't tell you - didn't you ask the people you got them off how old they were? Where in Lincolnshire did you get them from? I am in Lincolnshire too  :D

Take your time and just sit in their run with them - in the afternoons you could try offering them treats first just in front of you and then later in your hand. They will soon become less flighty. Mealworms is a great treat to get them to come to you - most would take your arm off to get to mealworms  :lol:. However they are fattening so don't give them too many.
Staffies are softer than you think.

nicky d

• Experienced Member
  • super shane
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2010, 19:56 »