Scaley Leg!!!

• 12 Replies

02rlgudgin

Scaley Leg!!!
« on: January 24, 2007, 10:22 »
Well hello newbie here, My friend and I got an allotment and within a few months we had chickens unfortunately when we got them our cockerel had scaley leg and still has I was wondering if anyone has any good cures because its not very pleasant to look at and i'm sure not very comfortable for him thanks for your help
33 chickens and 2 lil call ducks woohoo

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
Scaley Leg!!!
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2007, 12:27 »
Hi scaley leg is caused by mites under the scales on the legs, there's a few different remedies about, most popular seem's to be to dip the hens legs into surgical spirit for about 20 sec's to kill the mites, or some people paint parrafin onto the legs once a week for 3 weeks, but thats only any good if your hen has not got feathers all the way down to it's feet. Either way the legs still stay scaley looking until they naturally replace them.
Look out for some good advice from muntjac  he keeps loads of hens so I'm sure he will know the best treatment.
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

sorrel

• Experienced Member
Scaley Leg!!!
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2007, 13:07 »
Maybe you could try smothering his legs with vaseline (i've read it suffocates the mites)

Dont worry muntjac will know
Starting from scratch............

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Scaley Leg!!!
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2007, 13:30 »
Not a nice condition (particularly if you are the chicken!)

This is an extract from an article I wrote about external parasites for a chicken forum.  I hope it is helpful :D

Scaly Leg Mite