Beans and fleece or not?

• 5 Replies

Sue32

• Experienced Member
Beans and fleece or not?
« on: May 04, 2009, 22:06 »
I'm a complete newbie to veggies, but lots of enthusiasm and getting very confused. 
Help needed
I have French beans and Sugar Snap peas ready to go out in the plot.  I've already had to put the beans into bigger pots and can't wait any longer as they need to climb up something. 
Do they need protection (I'm in the Chiltern hills)?  I've seen conflicting advise.
If so what & how as once I've put big canes in how do I put fleece over, if fleece is the right stuff to use?

Or is best to just put them out, take a chance and also sow some more seed just in case?
trying to be green except when blue

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Beans and fleece or not?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 22:15 »
The peas will be fine, just harden off gradually and then plant them out :)
 As for the beans...

French Beans are sub-tropical in origin, and for this reason need a minimum soil temperature of 16°C (60°F). If unprotected, French Beans are in all cases damaged by even one degree of frost. Where the seedlings have appeared above the soil surface and a late unexpected frost strikes, it is best to remove them and sow more seeds in their place.

So if you have some wrap them round with fleece (you can peg it to the canes) on cold nights, or be ready to resow if you lose them :(

Sue32

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 22:37 »
thanks - the beans will have to take their chances.  I've got some fleece but can't be certain to get to them every frosty night, but I've got some seed left.
Can I sow that direct now or only in pots?

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2009, 22:45 »
Well think you'd have to leave it a bit later for sowing outside, and you'll know by then whether the first lot are gonna make it or not ::)
But no harm to sow a few if you've got enough seed (and pots) cos they'd harvest a little later anyway :)