Mantis

• 6 Replies

Noddymac

Mantis
« on: April 24, 2010, 22:44 »
I am a newbie -  but luckily managed to get a Mantis but need some advice please.  My plot is tiny but I or my OH use the Mantis for just an hour or two a day and have managed to chew up the grass and weeds on nearly half the plot (other than the 3 foot deep bramble roots that seem to appear daily!) and the earth has been turned into a lovely fine tilth.  I can manage to hold the Mantis but the one problem is that it tends to jump now and then - is it because the earth is so hard and dry (very heavy clay around here) that it jumps about or am I just using it wrongly - hopefully someone will be able to advise.  I am now wearing wrist supports as it has aggravated the arthritis in my wrists - ohhh to be young again!   Other than this, it is a brilliant machine and I can understand why everyone raves about it.  I would recommend it to anyone - our allotment site had been left to go wild for about 15 years so it was covered with assorted weeds and grass - no problem to the Mantis luckily!   Thanks for any advice you can give.

SarahB

• Experienced Member
Re: Mantis
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2010, 23:09 »
It will jump if it hits a compacted area, or even a thick patch of weeds - basically anything that stops the tines digging in.  I had an allotment that had been left to go to seed for several years before I took it over.  The underlying soil was quite sandy, but the mantis still jumped in the very weedy bits every now and then - if I remember rightly, when it had dug itself in a bit far, then I pulled it out, it would jump before it bit into the next bit.  So the trick may be to keep it moving at a more even pace and don't let it dig itself in too far - go over twice if necessary to get the depth.  That, and don't give it too much throttle until it starts to bite, as it will tend to bounce if the tines are rotating too fast.

RichardA

« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2010, 09:08 »