Newbie on here and chicken run advice please

• 7 Replies

richinbish

« on: January 21, 2009, 20:45 »
Hi,I'm a newbie and I can't believe how many people are on here involved with chickens  :D Anyhow my question is,I'm thinking about getting some chickens and I was thinking about getting an allotment to keep them on (aswell as starting to grow vegetables) Now I live about 3 mins drive from 6 to 10 sets of allotments but I do have a very large garden that wraps around my house but it is mainly set out to lawn but at the back of my house the border is about six foot wide but slopes away severly down to my garden fence .So this border is wasted space and I have thought of putting a nice little chicken run in (six foot by say 15 foot long)but would it be ok for chickens to scrat around in or would I need a flat surface ?Also , I have two small children who would be playing in the garden(if we get any summer lol) so would that scare the chickens ? Any advice greatly appreciated  :D  PS this makes a great change to talking about football  :lol:

Molly Hen

« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2009, 20:52 »
Welcome Richinbish.
Sorry, before you entered this site, it should have had a warning on it.  

This site and chicken keeping is highly addictive and will seriously affect your life. :lol:

If you get addicted, then things will never be the same again. :lol:  Its great though.  If you are serious about extending your family (i.e. getting some girlies) they will give you endless hours of amusement, amazement and worry.  Saying that, I wouldn't be without mine  :cheers:

karlooben

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2009, 21:01 »
hiya there rich , firstly yeh its very very addictive to addictive :lol: .