some help needed please all

• 9 Replies

spade or shovel?

some help needed please all
« on: September 24, 2010, 09:39 »
Hello all, I have marked out, de topsoiled, dug well over my new plot ( please remember I am a complete novice at this ) I am hoping my manure will be here by the weekend so I can get that all dug over / in . So my two questions are:
a, is that it till next year regarding me being ready ( I know I will need to clear weeds )
b, I am really keen to grow some garlic, I know it needs to be English and I was advised that buying already started plants was a safer option for a newbie like me, so where and when would you good people plant it, tubs? pots? do I plant some in the newly manured plot? Sorry for the questions just dont want to make any silly mistakes.

Thanks as always

Regards

Dave
Phil Lynott & Thin Lizzy will never ever be forgotten. R.I.P. Phil , a true rock legend

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: some help needed please all
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2010, 09:52 »
I'm a bit concerned by the words "de topsoiled". What exactly do you mean by this? I sincerly hope that you not done what first sprang to mind.

As for garlic - it's easy enough to grow direct into the soil, no need for tubs or ready started plants.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

Salmo

« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2010, 10:01 »
If you want to grow carrots and parsnips next year do not manure where they are going.

Buy garlic bulbs from a garden centre, split the individual cloves and plant 3 inches deep any time from now straight into the ground.

paintedlady

« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2010, 11:00 »
re: manure ... if it's coming straight from a farmer's yard, it might be a bit too fresh to dig in, even now for planting next spring.  Manure should ideally be well rotted down.