when to dig my early potatoes

• 9 Replies

queenb

when to dig my early potatoes
« on: June 14, 2011, 22:05 »
H,i HELP....,this is my first year of growing my own vegetables, so far so good I THINK ! , my potatoes are huge  and flowered .how will i know when they are ready to be harvested?

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: when to dig my early potatoes
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2011, 22:16 »
Welcome to the site  :D

I'm going to move this across to the Grow Your Own forum; feel free to pop back to introduce yourself properly on the Welcome forum  :)

Need some more info before we can answer your questions:

1. what variety are the spuds? - or at the very least, do you know whether they are first early / second early / maincrop / salad type?
2. when were they planted?
3. do you mean that the foliage is huge (as opposed to the potatoes themselves)?
4. have you had a little rummage to see what size the potatoes are? (also called a 'furtle' )
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Dan78

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2011, 23:59 »
My foliage is huge this year too!!

Agreed with above.. have a little 'furtle' to see what you can find.. Mine are just starting to flower and had a lovely meal from 1 plant at the weekend!

queenb

« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2011, 08:03 »
hi, the potatoes are charlotte, i put them in march they have purple flowers on them , they are about metre tall

Kajazy

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2011, 08:24 »
Incidentally - I've seen lots of (funny!) references to 'furtling' on this forum, but please could somebody clarify (also my first time of growing potatoes), where exactly do you furtle - just directly at the base of the plant, or further down into the ridge?

daisy1990

« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2011, 09:56 »