Onion sets, beetroot, runner beans.

• 12 Replies

sharky

• Experienced Member
« on: March 11, 2008, 00:15 »
Hello,

More questions, sorry! One day I'll be able to offer more answers than questions! :oops:

Onion sets - Should these be sown indoors in pots or is it OK to plant them straight out about now?

Beetroot - paranoid about last frost frying little seedlings, advisable for these to be sown yet?

Runner beans - I would like to get them started indoors in pots to give them more of a chance, is this a good idea and when is the best time to sow them indoors?

Also generally, how cautious should I be of the last frost, it is really making me paranoid!

Many thanks.

Cazzy

« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2008, 00:51 »
Wish I could help you Sharky but i'm brand new at this as well and i'm at the panic stages coz i've went ahead and put my onion sets in pots and sown most of the seeds that I bought in pots at the house, now i'm thinking I was a bit too eager lol.

However if disaster does strick I'll be ok coz I've bought enough seeds to feed a small country and will just start again.

Good luck  :)
What if the Hokey Cokey IS what its all about...

Trillium

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2008, 02:28 »
Onion sets are generally planted directly outside, and probably soon as the current bad weather passes. For peace of mind, you could lay some fleece over them (weighted down well) against frost, etc. Cool weather will slow down sprouting.

Runner beans could be started indoors soon, just don't crowd them into tiny containers as they'll want to spread their roots a bit. Same with beetroot - space them well as each 'seed' contains up to 7 actual seeds so you'll need room for those to develop a bit before transplanting.

Since I'm not in the UK, I can't advise on your frost dates - mostly watch what your gardening or lotty neighbours are doing and when.

Eristic

• Experienced Member
    • http://downtheplot.com/index.php
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2008, 02:29 »