making flower borders

• 8 Replies

earthing83

• Experienced Member
making flower borders
« on: March 02, 2010, 10:50 »
I am going to dig out a boder in my garden to sow flower seed in. It is my first year growing flowers and I am not too sure how fussy they are with soil conditions. Do they all have different needs or is there are general soil type I should aim towards creating? Any tips/advice would be much appreciated!

Hey Jude

• Experienced Member
Re: making flower borders
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2010, 13:48 »
I would say to get the best blooms you need to add plenty of well rotted manure and compost - good soil, good plants! I've just redesigned all my borders and although I don't have a large garden, I've just dug in 24 large bags of manure and compost (had to buy it from the garden centre as my home grown compost is needed at the allotment!) If your soil has lots of clay in it, it would be a good idea to add some grit too. If you're planting shrubs, a good sprinkle around the base after planting with blood fish and bonemeal or growmore will help things on their way. Good luck! Hey Jude.

Puenktchen

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2010, 15:55 »
Hi

Are you going to sow annual/biennial plants? Or perennial plants? For perennials it is a bit unusual to sow directly into a bed outside. Normally you sow them in individual pots and plant them out after the first year, or buy them in pots in garden centres or a nursery. With annuals/biennials it depends on what kind you want to sow. Most of the wildflower types don`t need a very nutrient rich soil, some even need a rather poor soil. Only the types which are bred for big and spectacular flowers need a lot of nutrients.
For most perennial plants you can follow the advice posted by "Hey Jude", but if you want perennial wildflowers, normal not too poor garden soil is sufficient (with a mulch application from time to time).

Puenktchen

earthing83

• Experienced Member