Hello from a newbie

• 14 Replies

ScottBarton

Hello from a newbie
« on: November 27, 2008, 23:00 »
Hi all
Took delivery of my coop/run today and planning to build it at the weekend!  8)  (Weather permitting!)
Am a total novice but have done my research including reading a very helpful book called 'Choosing and keeping Chickens' by Chris Graham (in association with the Practical Poultry Magazine) Found it a very good read indeed!
No doubt i will have plenty of questions for all you experienced chicken keepers out there!  :wink:
Am looking to start off with 4 chickens, 2 x Rhode Island Reds and 2 x Sussex.
First question....can anyone foresee a problem with keeping these two breeds together?

Pics of the coop/run will be posted once i have built it!

mother hen

• Experienced Member
Hello from a newbie
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2008, 23:39 »
Hi Scott, welcome to the forum, I have the same chicken book and have found it very useful along with all the good tips you can pick up here. Will your chickens be able to free range? or be confined to a run.

I have kept quite a few dif birds but have to say my favourites are the bluebelles they have the nicest natures and have laid every day since I got them in May.  I only have 1 RIR now, gave others to a friend to free range. :)
janet

too many girls

Hello from a newbie
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2008, 23:49 »
welcome to the forum Scott

ScottBarton

Hello from a newbie
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2008, 23:58 »
Hi, thanks for the welcome.
I have bought a rather large coop with a big run area so initially, until i get the hang of things, i plan to keep them in there. When the days get a bit longer, then i will let them roam the garden (probably much to my wifes dismay as she is not overkeen on the idea!  :roll:  )
This is the product i have bought....hope its ok...to be honest i would of asked on here before i bought it had i of known the forum existed!  :roll:

ceri green

• Experienced Member
Hello from a newbie