Building a little equipment store - please help!

• 5 Replies

Pimento

• Experienced Member
Building a little equipment store - please help!
« on: August 11, 2012, 00:30 »
Hi all,

Having finally, finally transported, rebuilt and completed my free greenhouse - it's only taken a year  but I'm proud of it! - and having learned that I'm actually capable of using a cordless drill-driver, my  confidence in my new-found construction skills knows no bounds.

Therefore I've decided my next project is going to be a little store for all my plant pots, trays, etc.  Something along the lines of one of those low Keter-type sheds that you can hide your bin or your bike in, but with an open front instead of doors.

I was reckoning on making the "legs" at the corners from some scaffolding planks I have, with a sheet of ply at the back and a sloping roof made from a polycarbonate sheet I also have. There'll be a couple of shelves inside across the length and width of the structure.

As I'm a novice at this kind of stuff, please has anyone tried anything similar, or does anyone have any tips?

Thank you!

Pim.
I don't really look like my avatar.

grendel

Re: Building a little equipment store - please help!
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2012, 09:17 »
just go with instinct, you will probably end up with something that is over engineered (ie a lot stronger than it really needs to be), but it will be sturdy, and you will have built it yourself. plan where your shelves will be and use the positions to make the horizontal rails at the ends that space the legs, as these will also support the shelves. if you are going to put a lot of weight on the shelves, consider horizontals to support them front and back too.