Potatoes in bags!!

• 14 Replies

Twood

• Experienced Member
Potatoes in bags!!
« on: February 20, 2019, 11:59 »
HI
I'm thinking this subject could be quite divisive but hopefully useful :D
I dont have enough room to plant spuds in the ground so am opting for bags this year to see how I get along Its my first year growing veg in this new garden.
So I ordered from Marshalls and have received 3 good quality but small 40L bags and 3 varieties of seed potatoes ( x5)  Swift, Charlotte and Wilja which all seem to be decent varieties.
However having done a bit of research my issue is the diverse information regarding the number of seed potatoes per bag.
Marshalls suggest all 5 seed potatoes per bag.
John suggests 3 and I have read other information suggesting 2.
So I'm sure there are lots of you out there who have both good and bad experiences with this method
All comments gratefully received  :lol:
Anyone tried main crop in bags??

Twood
Happy Gardening May your plot be abundant in veg and free from slugs ! :)

DHM

• Experienced Member
Re: Potatoes in bags!!
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2019, 12:55 »
When all we had was a patio, we grew potatoes in bags for 5 years, some years, loads of 'em, some years nowt. I did 3 mains or 4 salads to a bag and most of the time had decent crops. The method of topping up is very easy in bags and is a simple low-labour way to grow them.

The only problem I had was disposing of all the soil afterwards as you can't reuse it for potatoes or tomatoes the following year due to the nutritional take and disease build up. Luckily a local charity took it off my hands to fill their herb planters!

Plot94

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2019, 13:33 »