which rotavator or tiller for lady to use

• 6 Replies

LILLILEAF

which rotavator or tiller for lady to use
« on: December 04, 2019, 18:42 »
I will have some work to do on my veg patch, i would like to give a tiller or rotavator a go, which one to go for I do have issues with my hip and a slightly wonky leg, but this does not stop me having ago.
What machine would be good for  me to go for, i have never used one, but I think it would be much easier for me than spending hours digging, whats do you say.
Tractor would be great :lol: be the purse won't stretch that far and the garden is not big enough.
Thank you in advance.Lillileaf

TonyB.

• Experienced Member
Re: which rotavator or tiller for lady to use
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2019, 18:55 »
Hi
You say garden, I am guessing then that you have access to electricity? If so I would suggest an electric one. I have no experience with them but know the pull start of the petrol ones can be awkward.
They will not be as heavy but should cope with a "garden" patch.

Tony B.

LILLILEAF

« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2019, 19:06 »
The area I need to do is around 20sqm x 25sqm,i have no problem using petrol equipment, the pull starts are fine I use a petrol mower.
I am fairly strong worked with cattle sheep and horses, now I sharpen animal blades as a job.

Growster...

« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2019, 05:48 »
Have a look at a Mantis, LL.

https://mantis.uk.com/product-category/tillers/

They're quite light, very easy to drive and manipulate in tight corners, and while you do need to pull the cord to start it, once it's going it'll just work all day! (I don't know about the electric version, but wouldn't have had one anyway, as there was no power on 'The Patch')!