sweetcorn- which variety? +tips?

• 18 Replies

Nicki85

• Experienced Member
sweetcorn- which variety? +tips?
« on: April 16, 2015, 10:16 »
I've tried sweetcorn for the past few years with no luck.  This will be my last year trying, I've put some raised beds in down one of my plots which I'm hoping will provide good growing conditions for it!  The raised beds have been filled with topsoil (local supplier although it is bit claggy for my liking) and bagged manure from the local garden centre.

My main question though is, which variety do you swear by?  I've just about got time to order from the interweb now! 

Also any tips for a successful crop would be appreciated :)

maddave

• Experienced Member
Re: sweetcorn- which variety? +tips?
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2015, 10:26 »
I've only grown swift last year for the first time. I was so amazed with fresh sweetcorn that I have dedicated a much larger space for it this year!

I'm a novice so dont take my word for it, but all I did was:
Sow the seeds in deep pots filled with compost around now. Wait until they are well established and about 20 cms high.  Then plant out in their final position in the bed in a block around 20-30cms apart.  Feed with some chicken pellets and water well. 
Once they produce the flowers and pollen, gently shake the plants near to each other so that the pollen gets on the strings on each plant. (I cant remember the technical term for these bits!! "Lady corn garden?!" perhaps  ;)) Each string will lead to corn kernal, so make sure all the strings get some pollen on to get a full cob - my mistake last year!

As the corns bulk up, I found I could open one to see if they were ripe - squeeze a kernal to see if milky sap comes out.  If they are opened I did find squirrels or other bugs could get into the cob and eat the corn, so only try to open them a little bit and only if you really have to check their ripeness!

Then eat and enjoy!

Beetroot Queen

« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2015, 10:31 »