Broody Hens

• 10 Replies

stephandscott

Broody Hens
« on: March 06, 2011, 10:23 »
Two of our silkies have just gone broody and are sitting on 2 eggs each but think they might have  started 2 days ago.

Can we put more eggs under them now or does it have to be done at the same time?
Or can we take away their eggs and put 12 fresh eggs under them??

Just for information, we have 5 hens and 5 cockerels, all just under a year old.
We have also just hatched 13 chicks using an incubator which are a week old and in the house at the moment.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks
« Last Edit: March 06, 2011, 10:30 by stephandscott »

bantam novice

Re: Broody Hens
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2011, 17:46 »
Hello Stephandscott and welcome to the wacky world of henaholics! 

I am not that experienced in hatching; however personally I would put twelve fresh eggs under so that they hatch at the same time.  I'm sure that someone more experienced will be along shortly to advise you.

In the meantime good luck!
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

dennis

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2011, 10:54 »
hi stephadscott
you don't want to put 12 eggs under a silkie that is to meny 6 is about right fresh eggs is best so they all hatch at the same time

orchardlady

« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2011, 17:18 »
I too would suggest fresh eggs under your girls. Also remove them to their own individual quarters as the other hens and cockerels may well disturb them. Give them a day or two on some crock eggs first in their new quarters just to make sure they are truly broody and settled. I would also suggest that you reduce your cockerel population by 4 if thy are all in together as they will start to fight soon as they come into maturity. Also they will tread the remaining girls far too much. You really can have too much of a good thing!

OL

dennis

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2011, 10:20 »
are you sure the eggs are fertile if your boys are so young ?