Newbie!!

• 12 Replies

Letty

Newbie!!
« on: May 04, 2009, 10:58 »
Hi - at last I have managed to house three hens (rangers) I am completely new to this and the advice i have found on this site has helped me through the setting up of the living quarters, the run, feeding and cleaning out, so far so good BUT....  they have been with me for a week and seem happy and eating well but no eggs.  The breeder I bought them from informs me that they need two weeks to settle in before laying, are there any signs i should be looking for to keep my enthuisiasm going?? :ohmy:
Also, one of the hens has a habit of pecking at the wooden doorway to the coop - is this normal???

Vember

Re: Newbie!!
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 12:04 »
Hi Letty

Welcome to the Mad House  Hen House (sorry  :blush:) :lol:

Any chance you could pop a couple of pictures on? Then we'll be able to give you an idea of when they may start :)  Some people do sell as POL but they aren't always telling the truth  >:(

Things to look out for are reddening of the comb and some girlies squat down as you approach them thinking you are a cockerel wanting to mate with them  :blush: :lol:

Not sure about the pecking of the door ??? Is there a small knot of wood or a dark dot sometimes birds will peck at things like that thinking they are a grub ???

Sarah :)

poultrygeist

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 15:10 »
Hi Letty. Welcome. :)

I can't add any more to what Sarah's said.

Try walking in wearing some spotty trousers and see what happens  :blink: :D

Rob 8)

Fifitrix

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2009, 20:35 »
Hi Letty

I bought my first 3 POL's last year and they didn't start laying until 3-4 weeks after I'd bought them.  However, we were so delighted with them that the eggs were just an exciting bonus when they arrived.  I got texted in the middle of an important meeting with a photo of the first egg!  It's all great stuff.  Enjoy!   :)