Raised beds - what is safe?

• 6 Replies
Raised beds - what is safe?
« on: June 19, 2020, 20:16 »
Hello! I’m an allotment newbie and would appreciate some advice please.

Our new plot is covered in weeds so we are going to try the no dig method of lining the plot with membrane and soil to kill off the weeds and then build raised beds. After much umming and ahhing in B&Q I decided on these:

https://www.diy.com/departments/blooma-pine-vertical-log-roll-300mm-1m/1906491_BQ.prd

https://www.diy.com/departments/blooma-pine-vertical-log-edging-pack-of-1/1906490_BQ.prd

I bought 4 of each with some fence posts for supporting  the inner corners to create two beds.

Now I see online that they are pressure treated. Is that a bad thing?? Would lining with membrane or rubble sacks help? I would think the chemicals in plastic would also be cause for concern for leaching chemicals? Thank you!!

« Last Edit: June 19, 2020, 20:17 by Victoria Osborne »

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Raised beds - what is safe?
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2020, 01:02 »
Pressure treated should be fine in itself.

However, I would have reservations about your plan to put membrane down and then use those edges for the beds.  They are only 15cm and 30cm tall, including stakes.  That doesn't leave much growing room for plants, given the depth of roots needed - which you won't be able to get through the membrane.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

snowdrops

« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2020, 07:47 »
You say you are going to line the plot with membrane & soil in no dig fashion, I don’t quite understand. With no dig you strim the weeds as close to the ground as you can, cover with a thick layer of cardboard,wet it thoroughly & cover with well rotted mulch (not soil, as it may have potential weed seeds & roots). Whatever you do enjoy, it can be confusing to start with & easy to over think it all. Membrane to cover parts you are waiting to start on is a good idea.