Beginners want to make lager

• 14 Replies

fluffypebble

« on: January 13, 2007, 21:41 »
Me and eldest child are going to attempt making some homebrew lager.  I intend to give wine making a go once I have fruit from the lottie but as total novices in this field (and everything else I think) what do we need to start and make our first brew. Equipment, kits etc, also best places to store it whilst it is fermenting etc (we live in a new semi with central heating, no fire, no cellar, no space).

Thanks

PS eldest child is 19 so not leading the young astray - honest
http://10.UploadMirror.com/uploaded/1/646/glitter_maker_03_04_2007_03_32_52_22128.gif[/img]

(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
A weekend wasted is not a wasted weekend.

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2007, 23:39 »
Why wait for the fruit off your lottie fluffy?  Because of Hayles on here, I've started making my wine again, and have just made some VERY nice carrot wine, and Ribena wine and orange juice, but the orange didn't clear properly, still a little cloudy,  but the carrot was the cheapest, I bought a 20kg bag of horse carrots for £1.80.  You only need 4.5lbs carrots and a bag of sugar per gallon of wine!!!!!

hic, hic   :oops:

hayles62

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2007, 23:41 »
You will need a fermentation bucket with lid, Wilkinson’s do one for under £8-00 and a siphon tube also cheap from them and about 40 pint bottles  (Go to a pub that sells Mangers cider or any other non returnable pint bottles and ask for the empties) and some caps 79p from Wilkinson’s for 50. You can use empty lemonade bottles with lids as well. A long plastic spoon for stirring. Just stand it in a warm room on a table so you can siphon it off without disturbing the sediment and that’s about it really…
I only started last summer and now have four buckets and 200 bottles, once you have the equipment it keeps getting cheaper every batch you make, I never buy shop beer now.