Chicken cold with blooming nose..?

• 10 Replies

featherhead

• I love her.
Chicken cold with blooming nose..?
« on: June 01, 2011, 21:31 »
I've had my very first chickens for 3 weeks now, so I'm still learning about my little hens.

Today I noticed my wyandotte bantam (12 weeks old) sneezing and shaking her head regularly and scratching at her beak with her feet occasionally. Just before I put her to bed I noticed a small amount of blood coming from one of her nostrils.

Should I be worried, or is this just a cold?
There's no place like home <3

bantam novice

Re: Chicken cold with blooming nose..?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2011, 21:49 »
Hello Featherhead and welcome to the forum.  :)
We are a friendly bunch and you can ask any question relating to your chickens.  There are some very experienced people on here who can advise you. 
I am not that experienced but I don't like the sound of the blood on the beak.  I would be inclined to take your hen to a vet asap and maybe isolate her in the meantime so that she does not pass on anything infectious. 
It is always a good idea to identify a local chicken-friendly vet.  Not all of them are and some even refuse to treat chickens.
I am sure someone more experienced will be along.  In the meantime good luck and keep us posted.
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2011, 22:16 »
sorry but I think she needs to see a vet as soon as possible. the nose bleed could be caused by violently shaking her head or sneezing, which in turn sounds like she has a respiritory infection and will need to be treated with antibiotics. Get enough antibiotics to treat them all and also ask the vet how long the egg withdrawal period for the type of antibiotics is.
Staffies are softer than you think.

featherhead

• I love her.
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2011, 23:53 »
Thanks for the replies, bantam novice and joyfull.