Convert plastic garden storage into hen house? am i mad?

• 25 Replies

Hen 1-0 Fox

• Experienced Member
Hello,

Firstly hello to everyone, I am new to the world of chickens and have spent a few weeks trying to educate myself in the basics. Having never kept chickens before I hope to have accrued enough knowledge to acquire a few hens in the spring and be a responsible owner capable of helping others on the forum as well as asking for advice.

Having read various article on the pros and cons of wooden vs plastic coops I am currently leaning towards plastic, but am a bit hesitant to part with several hundreds of pounds for the fancy Eglu designs.

I am prepared to spend money on electric netting which seems to be very effective in repelling the fox, however I would like to make a very comfortable customised home for my birds that doesn't cost the Earth. My question is essentially would it be possible to convert something like the picture below into a suitable hen house? I would modify the air vents, introduce nest boxes, perches and a pop hole.

At the moment I'm just trying to find out if this idea is nuts, I do have the option of converting a shed or buying a ready made wooden chicken coop but I like the advantages of the plastic designs.

Any feedback appreciated and hope everyone and their chickens are well.

Andy.

x1 Light Sussex x1 Black Rock x1 Bluebell x1 Silver Sussex

SMS6

Re: Convert plastic garden storage into hen house? am i mad?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2011, 22:42 »
we had one of those for our bins once, they really aren't very sturdy - you'd have to do a fair bit of strengthening.  Ours regularly blew aprt in high winds

rachelr

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2011, 10:32 »
a friend of mine uses the big shed sized one they sell in b and q? He thought as it was plastic it woould be good enough to dispel the old red mite.