Moving ducks

• 8 Replies

knoxxie

Moving ducks
« on: September 28, 2010, 16:00 »
I am moving house and wondering what to do with 3 much loved ducks (2 call ducks and 1 peking duck). My current house has a large lake with island as well as smaller pond nearby. Where I am moving to does not currently have a water feature but would consider putting one in, although concerned that it is very rural and what may happen with local fox population. I am looking for anyone who has advice on moving ducks.

orchardlady

Re: Moving ducks
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2010, 23:50 »
Hello. I'm very new to duck keeping, however you could as a temporary measure purchase some flexible poultry wire and peg them out a good sized area. I use a child's plastic sandpit/paddling pool (Argos). It's not aesthetically attractive but certainly serves the purpose. They love to splash and preen in the clean water I put in each and every day. Of course I can't really comment on the Fox problem but I do herd the ducks to bed each night at dusk. I hope your ducks have a safe and easy move. :)

penninehillbilly

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2010, 01:19 »
Hi knoxxie
I would make a smallish 3 sided pen alongside the door to their house (I use strips of weldmesh, fruit netting cover), and keep them in for about a week, if you let them wander too soon you would have to start again, as long as the water is deep enough for them to keep their eyes clean they don't need a pond, a washing up bowl would do for a short while, though obviously it is nicer all round to see them swimming and happy. I'm sure you already know clever little call ducks will soon learn where home is :), don't know about the pekin - it must look a giant up to calls :ohmy: