How much do you sell your eggs for?

• 48 Replies

nuzuki

• Experienced Member
How much do you sell your eggs for?
« on: May 24, 2013, 10:04 »
I just wondered, im pretty new to selling eggs. I charge £1 for half a dozen which I reckon is far too cheap. I wondered if anyone has sat down and worked out the cost of feed vs the cost of an egg they sell. We get a bag of layers pellets (20kg) for inbetween £8-9 which lasts 2 weeks and sell our eggs £1 for 6 which works out 15p an egg. So they eat around 50ps worth of feed a day and I get £1 worth of eggs presently which isn't bad but still doesnt pay for ongoing repairs and worming stuff etc etc. So I was thinking about charging more for our eggs but want to remain competitive. So would you regard £1 for 6 eggs as cheap? Or should I push it upto £1.50?

Thanks

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
Re: How much do you sell your eggs for?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2013, 10:47 »
I sell mine to close neighbours for 10p per egg which I know is over cheap but they are good neighbours.  Relatives I give them to but some insist on paying £1 per 6 which is around 17p per egg.  I sell my quail eggs for £1.20 per dozen which includes a plastic quail egg box which costs me around 20p. 

You just need to find out what other sellers in your area charge for the same product.  Have a look for farm signs selling eggs near you.   ;)
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!
Bagpuss RIP 1992 - June 2012, 1 huge grass carp (RIP "Jaws" July 2001 - December 2011), 4 golden orfe, 1 goldfish and 1 fantail fish (also huge)! plus 4 Italian quail, 1 Japanese quail, 1 Rosetta quail.

Springlands

« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2013, 11:06 »
I sell my hens eggs for £1 per half dozen which I think is quite reasonable as I am not trying to make a profit.

splash101

« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2013, 12:01 »
£0.00 i give mine away   :ohmy: