hi

• 12 Replies

hopeless

hi
« on: July 29, 2011, 19:47 »
Hi I'm a newbie to the site and also to the growing of vegetables.........got myself a polytunnel this year, and got caulis, cabbage, sprouts, brocolli in there... the problem I am finding is the leaves are now all starting to look as if they are burning???? I do all my watering at night aswell, any ideas as to what the problem might be???? or am I just being overprotective of my veggies lol

LilacSandy

Re: hi
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2011, 20:25 »
With the weather that we have had it could not be the heat, have you tried running your fingers down the leaves to see if there are any pests on them?

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2011, 21:29 »
hi hopeless and welcome to the Forum.

Could you alter your profile (click on your user name) so that we know where you are gardening :)

Unless you are growing somewhere very cold, then the brassicas you mention do not like to be grown in the warmth of the polytunnel, they are outside, hardy plants. it may just be too warm for them in there.

hopeless

« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2011, 16:52 »
Thanks for the help on my problems with my veggies........so what would you recommend for the polytunnel??????? thought we were doing the right thing with putting them in there, but now it sounds not lol.....so next year then they will be outside then!!!!!! tried to uodate my profile as best as I could, not that good on the puters lol....

hopeless

« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2011, 16:53 »
Also forgot to add, got no brussels appearing on my plants?????

LilacSandy

« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2011, 17:16 »
Tomatoes, Peppers, Melons, cucumbers for summer, for winter you can put in winter lettuce and a late crop of carrotts

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2011, 17:24 »
Also forgot to add, got no brussels appearing on my plants?????