Ground preparation?

• 9 Replies

Steph

Ground preparation?
« on: March 13, 2009, 21:32 »
Hi,

Ive had all these wonderful ideas about growing lots of healthy organic fruits and veg (as you can tell Im a complete novice), and Ive come to the first hurdle before Ive even planted anything  :unsure:

The look on my husbands (Chris) face a minute ago, when I mentioned the fact we had loads and loads of raspberry cane roots to dig out tommorrow or they may come back up through the weed suppressent matting, was of absolute disgust.  (for the last few years the back garden was completely neglected, and the raspberries, bindweed, nettles and brambles took over.)  Weve had a mini digger and driver come in and clear it all, but thats only above ground, so I would guess there are still loads of roots underneath.

Anyway, Chriss first comment was "isnt there a bottle of something we can just pour over it all to stop them coming back?"  When I said I wanted to grow organic, his comments were along the lines of "no point ignoring modern technology if it can help".  But to be honest my other main concern about pouring stuff all over the ground is that it may kill my fruit trees when they arrive, and pollute the water table and kill creatures Id rather have around (including the frogs and toads from next doors pond).  I think this is going to be an uphill struggle . . .

So, what I really wanted to know is: Is there anything, mechanical or chemical which any of you would use to help clear the ground if it were your land?  Or is it just a case of me turning over the lot with a fork and a rake and trying to pull out all the roots by hand?