Keeping seed potatoes

• 2 Replies

gavinjconway

• My Allotment Progress Website
Keeping seed potatoes
« on: August 30, 2011, 00:31 »
Hi Spud growers.. I'm new to spuds this year and have grown some good tasty ones... I have a few questions..

Is it better to buy new seed next season or Is it worth keeping my own seed? Assuming yes to the latter... Will they keep from now till March in my normal shed stored in cardboard boxes covered up in old carpets to keep Jack Frost out?  I dont have any hessian sacks..

What are the best size to keep? I have quite a few that are golf ball and below in size...

Now a member of the 10 Ton club.... 2013  harvested 588 Kg from 165 sq mt..

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Keeping seed potatoes
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2011, 06:08 »
This thread from Salmo a few years back is worthy of a repeat. Then make your own mind up. Seed spuds are cheap enough, but if yu want to run the risk.......

Please excuse me while I have a minor rant as lax crop hygiene on plots is something I get steamed up about.

On every bag of seed potatoes there is a certification number which allows them to be traced back to the grower if there is a problem.

The seed certification scheme in the UK is very robust. Seed potatoes are only grown in areas where aphids do not thrive as they carry all sorts of viruses. That is at high altitude or a long way north and that is why most seed is Scottish. Every crop is inspected several times while it is growing and those with disease are rejected and cannot be sold as certified seed.

Saving and planting seed for a second year is usual agricultural practice. To do this for a 3rd and 4th year is risking a build up of virus and disease.