Sweet Pea Advice

• 5 Replies

Donnay

• Experienced Member
Sweet Pea Advice
« on: March 08, 2015, 19:52 »
I'm new to growing sweet peas and need some advice please. I have grown my sweet peas in root trainers and they are now falling over, they are about 10cm long. When do I plant them out and is it ok for them to fall over until planted out?

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Sweet Pea Advice
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2015, 20:07 »
How many pairs of leaves do you have on them so far?  You can pinch them out to make them bush out more.

They are pretty hardy plants but given the general ambient temperature at this time of year (don't be fooled by one warm weekend) they will need a considerable amount of hardening off over 2-3 weeks before you do put them outside.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Goosegirl

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2015, 11:01 »
When they have several leaves, I nip out the stem below the growing point with my fingers. As Yorkie says, this makes them produce stronger and bushier plants which equals more flowers.  :D Mine tend to flop as they grow even after doing this but have been ok. If you keep the pots close to each other, their tendrils can tangle them together which may help them support each other, but they can be separated with care and nimble fingers before planting.
I work very hard so don't expect me to think as well.

Donnay

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2015, 20:44 »
I have nipped the tops out, I will leave for a few weeks and hopefully they will be ok. When do you plant out?

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2015, 08:48 »
According to the RHS you should plant them out after the 'final spring frost', although I don't really know what that phrase means in practice.  :unsure:

They are much tougher than they look, and if properly hardened off should be OK outdoors in a few weeks time unless we are having another really cold spell of weather at the time.