Crop rotation - can anyone help?

• 6 Replies

Donnay

• Experienced Member
Crop rotation - can anyone help?
« on: January 23, 2012, 18:52 »
I'm new to allotment growing and have just taken over my first allotment. I decided to have raised beds for the main bulk of my allotment due to a back problem.

I'm just learning about crop rotation and have drafted my plan. The more I read the more confused I become. Can anyone have a look at my draft crop rotation plan below andtribe me some feedback.

Each year I will move the crops down a bed, a part fom moving onions two down. We have two onion beds because the whole family want me to gow them. Because I got my allotment towards the end of last year no beds have been manured but they have been filled with our council compost.

Bed 1 - Salad

Bed 2 - Brassicas

Bed 3 - Legumes

Bed 4 - Allium 1

Bed 5 - Allium 2

Bed 6 - Roots

Bed 7 - Potatoes

Any advice would be welcomed, please remember I'm new to this!

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Crop rotation - can anyone help?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2012, 19:15 »
Looks OK in principle.

(Assuming all beds are the same size), are you really going to want to cover the same area with salads as you do potatoes?

Are you hoping to grow courgettes and squash?
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2012, 19:19 »
This looks as though it will work and make sure the soil does not become too depleted.

If your soil is acid, then some lime for your brassicas would be helpful (don't add manure at the same time as it will react)

perhaps you could dig a trench where your runner beans are going to grow, and fill it with your kitchen waste, which will help retain moisture for them too

Manure for the potatoes (well rotted), or some other fertiliser as the like a good feed.

Salads like something like chicken pellets