Completely Decimated

• 16 Replies

cammi

• Experienced Member
Completely Decimated
« on: August 19, 2014, 15:28 »
This is my first year trying to grow veg, we are using raised beds and was also trying the square foot system.  Due to the making and filling we were a few weeks behind planting this year.   Well..........I've been away for a few weeks, came back yesterday and all the leafy/brassica plants have been completely eaten by caterpillars!  I have spent today, more or less, completely emptying the beds, getting rid of the caterpillars.  I have a few carrots, swiss chard and a cabbage left but thats about it  :( so disheartening, but really didn't see the point of keeping the skeletons.

So two questions.

1.  What can I do next year to prevent this, so i may stand a chance of actually harvesting something.

2.  Is there something I can now be planting in my empty beds?

Many thanks
11 Chickens (Rhode Rock, Bluebell, Copper Black, Columbine, Coucou, Mystery Hen, Clarance Court, Araucana, brown hen ) , 3 Cats (1 mog, 1 bengal, 1 Bengal x),  2 Little Boys, 1 dog (Golden Retriever) and 1 Husband

surbie100

• Winner Prettiest Pumpkin - 2014
Re: Completely Decimated
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2014, 15:37 »
Sorry to read you've had a disaster. The only real way of keeping out the pests is to net your veg. Something with tiny holes like veggiemesh will keep out pretty much everything, and small holed butterfly net (7mm or smaller) will keep out the butterflies. If the leaves touch the mesh or the net the butterflies can lay eggs through the holes, so it's worth keeping an eye out.

On the plus side, the net should last years. Your local DIY stores or garden centres might have some leeks or brassicas for planting out and harvesting next year. Mine certainly do.

Hope that helps.  :)

cammi

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2014, 16:51 »