Feeding

• 13 Replies

Vienna Phil

Feeding
« on: July 16, 2008, 19:02 »
This is probably a really stupid question, so feel free to take the you know what, but I warned you I was a beginner. Anyway, here goes: in the month by month guide, John talks about 'feeding' tomato and potato plants;
What with?  I really want to be as organic as possible, so can I just add more organic compost around the bottom of the plants? Otherwise, what should I 'feed' them?

Looking forward to your posts.

Phil
"What I say is that, if a man really likes potatoes,
he must be a pretty decent sort of fellow."
A.A. Milne

agapanthus

Feeding
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2008, 22:04 »
You could add more compost, but a better way to give your plants a liquid feed. Any way you can get hold of cow or sheep manure or comfrey? Put some poo in a hessian sack...or similar...and dunk the whole thing in a dustbin full of water.Stir occasionally. In a couple of weeks you will have your 'feed'.The same thing with comfrey leaves....you need quite a few though.  Pour sufficient into a watering can and top up with water....the mixture should look like weak tea. Use this on your potatoes, tomatoes, chillies, cucumbers....anything really!!!

Vienna Phil

Feeding
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2008, 23:16 »
Hi Agapanthus,

Thanks for your advice. I confess I had heard of comfrey but didn't really know what it was. Just did a google German search, and it seems to be used here as a kind of healing plant, for joints and fractures amongst other things. I searched the garden centre websites and none of them seem to stock it, but chemists do (obviously for afore mentioned ailments). If I need a lot, I don't think that is going to work somehow. I am not sure where I can get some poo from in Vienna, but I can get almost unlimited organic compost for free (the city of Vienna makes it from all the stuff we are required to recycle). I have used a lot already and it is great. Perhaps I will just pile a load more of that on my plot.