Favourite suppliers of seed potatoes

• 29 Replies

themoog

• Experienced Member
« on: November 30, 2008, 19:30 »
Please could I pick brains about seed potatoes? I didn't get my plot last year until Easter so this is my first year of getting early spuds in. I've got a quarter plot in total so only have a small space for spuds and won't want to buy loads of the same variety.

Where do you buy your potatoes from? Where is good value and reliable?

Thanks
My music teacher was right. If you have to make a mistake, make it good and big and loud; with a bit of luck people will think that it was always meant to be like that.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2008, 19:41 »
Hope you have an allotment shop so you can get your spuds there.

The p & p from the seed catalogues make them a bit expensive.

Or you can wait and see what varieties they have in your local garden centre or even at Wilko if you're not too fussy variety wise.

odd shapped veg

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2008, 19:57 »
Hope this does not sound too snobby but for the past five years of gardening I have always bought my potatoes from Marshall-seeds.co.uk. I have always bought from them because my dad has always bought from them. I can pick from the catalogue the variety I want and get then delivered to my house. I have to buy 12Kg of spuds and the P and P is £3.50. I could not drive and park to a garden centre or town for that.

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2008, 20:41 »
Quote from: "odd shapped veg"
I have to buy 12Kg of spuds and the P and P is £3.50. I could not drive and park to a garden centre or town for that.

But you also have to bear in mind their cost, not just postage. They are charging £6 to £7 for 2 kg that would cost me only £2 at Wilcos or my local nursery.