How do I secure my allotment

• 15 Replies

mimilovell

How do I secure my allotment
« on: March 16, 2014, 15:32 »
Hi

Im quite new to all this. And have been to my allotment a few times now, and been making friends. Ive been told there were some security problmes last year, with theives coming in stealing and damaging stuff. Im worried about it now. And wondering if anyone got a tips/ hints/ equiptment that would help me keep allotment safe.

Look forward to hearing from you all.

Thanks

Ashurstman

• Experienced Member
Re: How do I secure my allotment
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2014, 15:51 »
Not a lot one plot holder can do except lock their shed IMHO! But our vandals some years back took offence and burned down sheds if they could not get in! So we upped the site security!
The best answer is to securely fence the site. The Council might if they own the site but the other option - what my site did - is to bid for lottery money and do a proper job! We've got a secure fence and security cameras powered by solar panels. No serious problems since then.

rowan57

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2014, 15:53 »
There isn't a great deal you can do unfortunately. Old wooden tools are best and of least interest to thieves. Generally people say don't lock your shed or tHey will force the door trying to get in (but check that with others on your site.)

devonbarmygardener

• I live, therefore I garden!
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2014, 20:42 »
There isn't a great deal you can do unfortunately. Old wooden tools are best and of least interest to thieves. Generally people say don't lock your shed or tHey will force the door trying to get in (but check that with others on your site.)
I never lock my shed (I don't leave anything too valuable in their either) - other plot holders have had their doors forced when they've locked them. You can't win either way it seems! ::) :)

Chaz1985

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2014, 20:55 »