bedtime

• 19 Replies

bowler

bedtime
« on: June 21, 2013, 15:33 »
hi
    I am new to chicken keeping having just acquired 4 hybrids; will my girls go to bed when it gets dark or will I have to put them in the coop myself.
                                                         many thanks for any advice

barley

Re: bedtime
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2013, 15:59 »
they will put them selves in at dusk and wake at dawn ( like all birds )

if they are new they might need a gentle push through the hen house door for a couple of nights till they realise that the new roost is a safe place to sleep

good luck and enjoy 

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2013, 19:15 »
They usually do find their own way to the coop but you can also put a light in the coop to attract them in if they don't seem keen.  A torch will do and after a few nights they should get the hang of things so you won't need the light any more.   ;)
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!
Bagpuss RIP 1992 - June 2012, 1 huge grass carp (RIP "Jaws" July 2001 - December 2011), 4 golden orfe, 1 goldfish and 1 fantail fish (also huge)! plus 4 Italian quail, 1 Japanese quail, 1 Rosetta quail.

ghost61

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2013, 14:37 »
I have had my 3 light sussex hens for two months and they refuse to go to bed by themselves and lead me a merry dance every evening! Everyone else's hens on the lotty site are roosting when their owners turn up to lock them up. Mine, well, they just want to party and have to be caught and put in the hen house every evening.

I long for them to walk up into the coop on their own, but they wait up for me each evening and then the fun and games begin! Love them dearly and they are all laying every day and everyone says how lovely they are. But me, I'm fed up with being the source of amusement for late evening lotty holders who think its great fun to watch. Don't think that helps create the right atmosphere for the hens either!