Greenhouse or Polytunnel?

• 8 Replies

ytyynycefn

• http://www.ytyynycefn.com/5.html
« on: August 31, 2006, 18:19 »
I've had my allotment for six whole months now, and am looking to expand my empire  :lol: Especially as all my tomatoes (Alicante) are still green, and there's a limit to how much green tomato chutney I can eat in a year!

I have a space where I can plonk an 8x6 (possible a 10x6) something, but as I've had no experience with indoor growing before, I don't know whether a greenhouse or polytunnel would be better.  I'd like to grow tomatoes, peppers, chilli, aubergines and maybe melons and cucumbers, as well as starting off seeds a bit earlier than I could otherwise.  There's no electric supply, and as always, money (or lack of) is an issue.  There's a lane alongside the plot, but on the opposite side, and the gable end of whatever I get will be south facing.

I also have a three year old lad, so a greenhouse would be a polycarb jobbie, as glass would be just too risky.  Would a polytunnel this small be too much grief?  I've seen ads in Grow Your Own this month for small ones, but don't know enough about them.  Or would it be possible to make one myself and then get the polythene covering?  I could make it fit the space exactly, then....  I gather ventilation can be an issue with them?

Any thoughts?

Mel

spud

• Experienced Member
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2006, 22:43 »
Hi Mel,

It may be just my tired old eyes, but the pink writing is a real pain...sorry!

It's probably horses for courses, I wanted a poly, simply because of the area it would cover for the price...and I finished up with a top quality greenhouse for 100GBP, It was advertised in a local paper and I had to take it down...but the same GH is over 1500GBP new so I'm well chuffed..had it for 3 years now.

I would still like a poly but with one of those some sort of self watering system would be a must, cause I can kill a lot of time watering my GH and its only about 12 by 8 approx.

:)