Worming - again!

• 3 Replies

ManicMum

• Experienced Member
Worming - again!
« on: October 12, 2011, 13:31 »
Have successsfully wormed my girls - they loved the pellets with the
FFlubenvet mixed in as I stuck it all together with a slosh of cooking oil!

My friend is about to do her birds, but she has chickens, ducks & guinea fowl all in the same area.  I offered to consult all the experts on here to see if you think there would be a problem with ducks & guinea fowl having access to the treated pellets.
ManicMum

lilchic34

Re: Worming - again!
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2011, 14:02 »
I am new to having chickens, I got 2  for for the eggs now maybe you can help me with this, I ask somepeople and they tell me that you dont have to worm your chickens, but I was not sure if thats true, so I went a purchase this stuff called wazine" but on the bottle it said dont use if you are going to eat the eggs, so my question is do you have to worm your chickens?? and another thing I was going to make my son eggs this morning and I notice that in the yolk look like a very small red worm, like a vein shape!!! does worms get into the eggs??

Anndee

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2011, 19:12 »
Do you have a cockerel because that small red worm thing sounds like a fertilised egg.

Lindeggs

• A little Kiwi
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2011, 23:00 »
Manic Mum I can't help with your question, sorry.  But I presume if you had a lot of different birds living in one area you would want to worm them all at once to reduce re-infection?  So my completely uninformed opinion would be to encourage all the different birds to eat the pelets.  I hope someone who knows what they're talking about will be along soon with a better answer. :)