New to Allotments and Growing your Own

• 6 Replies

mgowland

« on: March 13, 2006, 20:35 »
Thanks for the very informative site. Have just spent the last 30 minutes reading what everyone else has posted in the forum as well as browsing the book section..........need to get an order on Amazon I think.

I'm completely new to allotments and gardening for that matter. Have never owned a house with a big enough garden and nor do I now but am about to be a dad for the first time so thought we should start on the right foot and grow some proper food.

I have just received the key for my allotment and have wandered up to where it is. Fantastic location in one of the higher spots of Exeter. You can see for miles over the top of the city. Will be lovely in the summer. Pretty draughty tonight though.

Unfortunately the view was somewhat tempered by the actual plot. I'm not afraid of hard work and am actually looking forward to it but it is one that has been rough cleared by the council and there are still parts of bramble bushes in place.

Any advice for getting it ready for planting.....looking at the seeds in the garden centre it looks as though mosts things need planting in March/April but its going to take a long time to clear the site I think.

Are brambles something I can rotivate or should I go for the old fashioned dig it by hand.

One of the things I'm really looking forward to planting is Rhubarb. Any advice as to when this should go in the ground.

Thanks in advance.....

oggy

« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2006, 20:52 »
Hi mglowland

Welcome, to clear plot is all hard work but worth it in the long run, make a plan of what you want, dig so much, plant behind you, and move forward, using a rotavator is great when the ground is fairly clear,otherwise you are cultivating weeds, see John's article on this site.
Plant rubbarb ....early or late .........now

Dig by hand and clear all.

OGGY

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2006, 21:22 »