maincrop potatoes

• 10 Replies

animal mad

• Experienced Member
maincrop potatoes
« on: August 01, 2009, 09:00 »
hi, i am really new at growing potatoes , the plants are started to die back, i thought i had to let them flower first. my book said to cut back plant and leave for 2 weeks, someone on the allotment said i should get them all up now, what should i do, how do i store them

Paul Plots

Re: maincrop potatoes
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2009, 10:49 »
What made you cut them back?

If they had blight then that's a good reason.... then you would normally leave the spuds in the ground for 10 to 14 days before lifting them for storage.

In the case of potato blight the idea of cutting back and disposing of the tops is to prevent spread of blight spores to the soil & crop. Leaving the spuds in the ground for a few extra days gives them a chance to produce thicker/tougher skins that will withstand storage and avoid blight spores (so I understand it).

If the tops died back gradually and did not appear to have blight - then you can lift them as and when you like. Leaving them in the ground until you want them wont hurt unless:
  • there are lots of hungry slugs about
  • you find tiny holes in the first lot you dig - in which case get them out sooner rather than later or there will be even more tiny holes!  >:(
  • the weather is very, very wet
If you are growing on an allotment site have a look around and see what others are doing.

Either way / what-ever you do don't worry - go and dig up a plant's worth now, buy some butter, shove on a pan - cook and enjoy after the hard work of growing them!  ;)

By the time you arrive back here (having tasted your first spuds) there will be some better advice, I'm sure.  ;)

Never keep your wish-bone where your back-bone ought to be.

Kristen

• K's Garden blog
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2009, 04:55 »
"i thought i had to let them flower first. my book said to cut back plant and leave for 2 weeks"