Turfing the lawn

• 6 Replies

jgsmuzzy

Turfing the lawn
« on: February 09, 2007, 20:52 »
As you know, I started to dig a little allotment in the garden some time back.  Plans changed (we were going to move house, then not, then decided to do the kitchen, bathroom, get a conservatory and do the garden properly.)  Now I need to returf the lawn.  My question is, when is the best time to lay turf?  Bear in mind that I need to rotovate the 100m2 first and add something to break the clay down a little.  Many thanks  James

(Before and during pictures.  The bank has been sheeted (after being cleared) with weed fabric, and ground cover plants are on order that will hopefully cover it within a few years.)  Next doors garden has been severly hacked back, and new fencing will be fitted when I can get round to it!

An absolute novice!

shaun

Turfing the lawn
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2007, 20:56 »
looking good muzzy you have been very busy.
best time for turf is anytime after march
feed the soil not the plants
organicish
you learn gardening by making mistakes

muntjac

Turfing the lawn
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2007, 21:05 »