Hello from a newbie / insect pests question!

• 11 Replies

SweetPea

• Experienced Member
« on: April 29, 2006, 20:25 »
Hello everyone :)

I'm new to both this board and to gardening too!  My partner and I recently moved from a flat into a house that already had a designated veggie patch and a (rather old and leaky) greenhouse.  I'm keen to start growing my own vegetables so a few weeks back I dug the plot over, dug in some manure and planted potatoes, carrots, lettuces and various herbs.  The greenhouse gained some tomatoes and chilli peppers.

A good few seedlings have poked their heads out now and on the whole, all looks good 8)  However, I've noticed that a lot of the herbs and some of the bigger seedlings have little nibbles out of the leaves as though something has been snacking on them!  I can't see any obvious insects or slugs so I'm at a loss as to how best to limit this kind of damage.  I'm quite keen not to resort to an insecticide but if I can't see what is eating my plants is that my only option?

I'd really appreciate your advice.  Thanks! :D

Phoenix

• Experienced Member
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2006, 23:17 »
Does sound like slugs to me, try putting a glass or something in the ground filled with beer and that will catch snails/slugs :)

Love the name by the way lol
Like War games then click on the link below - goto forum and ask for me (Black_Stalion)
Ambroid Online Multiplayer War Game

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2006, 23:31 »
Hi Sweetpea - welcome aboard.

I'm afraid that the tastier your veg the more wee beaties creep out to eat them!  It's  not going to be caterpillers yet - bit early for that joy. I suspect that it's the slugs and snails. Slugs are very sneaky creatures. In the day they hide away under stones and then the ooze out at dusk to munch away.