help needed on making raised beds

• 4 Replies

Sandy

« on: April 15, 2006, 21:00 »
Hello! I'm a newbie to this site and also a general newbie to allotment-ing!  :) my allotment is fast becoming an obsession of mine... and a healthy one at that so its all good!

I'm lucky to have my allotment at the back of my garden and I have spent a lot of time getting rid of the dreaded couch grass and other weeds (I think my fellow allotmenteers here call it "snitch"... either that or I've got it completely wrong!!).

My query to all you knowledgable ones is how to go about finding wood to errect cheap raised beds. I was in B&Q today and left empty handed (after having fought my way through the warehouse) as I didn't know what I had to buy. The cheapest boards had been treated which I guess would then leak chemicals into my soil and the "smoothed" boards were quite narrow and also really expensive. Does anyone have any suggestions on this matter? :roll:

Jake

• Rockers
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2006, 21:23 »
Ok so I'm not experienced but pallets are free. You don't have to steal them, usually if you just ask you can have them. Not the blue ones, they are all owned by a company, not sure how it works but if the pallet isn't blue you will probably be allowed to have it. I get a lot from the stationary delierers from work, they bring stuff in on a pallett and THEY ASK ME if they can leave it :shock:

Builders yards, Industrial estates, high street deliveries. You need to ask and you will be surprised, I know I was. Also old window frames if you see someone having double glazing put in.

Obviously you have to break this wood up :( ideally you will have a hammer and a crowbar for the pallets, just a hammer for the window frames. Pallets are handily made from planks and thicker wood that can be driven into the ground.