Raised Beds

• 17 Replies

Shieldsy

Raised Beds
« on: November 23, 2011, 18:43 »
I am still learning the ropes but keen and willing so am after a bit of help/advice.

I have a winter project of making and filling five 3m x 2m raised beds, around 30cms+ deep, ready for spring and full on veg sowing/planting but have a few questions.

Are old 2nd hand scaffold boards up to the job, you know the ones you can find/buy on E-Bay or does anyone have a good link/company I could use/contact? I've tried a couple of local scaffold companies but they are reluctant to sell 2nd hand boards.

What is the life span of scaffold boards used for raised beds?

And finally does anyone know of any good manure/top soil providers in the Reading, Berkshire area or websites that provide good value for money?

Many thanks in advance for any responses

Al

carlrmj

• Joint Winner - Tallest Sunflower 2012
Re: Raised Beds
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2011, 19:22 »

HI
  I bought scaffolding planks from a local company, 2.50 each and 3.9 m long.
  I cut them to lengths 2.7m and 1.2m( 8ft x 4ft in old money)this made best use of the boards,also it is easier to reach across as the furthest point from the sides is only 0.6m(2ft).
  I painted them with fence preservative to try to make them last a little bit longer,I've been told they will possibly last up to 4 years before they rot.
 I used decking screws to join them together,and wooden posts at 3ft intervals to strengthen the sides
  Sorry can't help you with the other

AndyRVTR

« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2011, 19:22 »
Hi Shieldsy...  :)
In answer to your question...IMO, the width (2m) may be too wide for your raised beds, bearing in mind you might be tempted to walk over them to get to the other side, 1.2m wide may be a better size.