Elderflower champagne

• 6 Replies

David.

Elderflower champagne
« on: June 08, 2007, 17:05 »
My wife wants to make elderflower champagne, but when she showed me recipes from books, they all seemed wrong for some one used to making beer & cider:

1) No yeast!

2) Add 1lb 8oz of sugar and put in bottles after 24 hrs - (if there is natural yeast on the flowers) the bottles will surely explode! I suggested at the very least using plastic bottles, releasing pressure occasionally and (just in case) keeping them in a large fermenting bucket with the lid snapped on.

3) Why not ferment in a bucket, then demijon and prime with sugar in the normal way? Is it just an old recipe that has never been changed, or does
'elderfower champagne' (more like elderflower beer?) need to be prepared another way?

flatcap

• Experienced Member
Elderflower champagne
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2007, 18:58 »
im no expert ,but i would make the same way as elderflower wine but use champagne yeast instead of wine yeast.

we done this with gooseberries and it was lovely

David.

Elderflower champagne
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2007, 22:11 »
Quote from: "flatcap"
im no expert ,but i would make the same way as elderflower wine but use champagne yeast instead of wine yeast.

But 'elderflower champagne' is a beer strength 2 week brew, and not like a sparkling wine.

It is only this specific brew that I am interested in.

hotterotter

Elderflower champagne
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2007, 18:04 »
There's different recipes, most on the net seem to be for the weak version you mentioned.

This is the one I make (its a proper strength fizzy wine):

gallon water, 2 1/2 lb sugar, 1/2 lb raisins 3 lemons juice, 1 pint of elder flower (without stalks)

start it of in bucket like normal wine, after a bit get it in a demijohn keep an eye on fermentation when the SG suggests there is very little sugar left i.e. 1000-990 bottle it and add a teaspoon of sugar for every pint in a bottle making sure not too full.