Double glazing units for coldframe?

• 19 Replies

leeky

« on: February 19, 2007, 23:39 »
Hi. sorry for what is probably a silly question but...

would the units from a double glazing window be ok for use in a coldframe? Apart from the double layer of glass which I presume is good for retaining heat, is there a coating on the glass itself which impedes the UV light and therefore detrimental to the growing of things?  

im way off arent I?   :oops:  :lol:

Trillium

« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2007, 23:48 »
I'm not a pro on this Leeky, but I'd say don't worry about it as your plants aren't likely to be in the frames long enough to suffer detrimental effects. I've always just used whatever I could get hold of, single panes, double glazed (though it's heavier), channeled plastic, etc. Only need to watch that the frames inside don't get too hot on clear or sunny days. On particularly nice days, lift the lid wide open and no problems.  :)

muntjac

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2007, 23:50 »
grab them and make ur cold frame mate  as trillium suggested use a brick to support the glass when its hot .. why a brick? cos they is heavy and is a wind comes up the stick may fall off completly n the plants will suffer if they get to hot  :wink:
still alive /............

WG.

« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2007, 23:58 »
I use double glazing units directly on open ground.  Simply support each corner using the top cut from a PET drinks bottle; keeps it an inch or so above the soil.   Warms the soil underneath.  Remove glass as soon as germination happens so that the seedlings are don't need hardened off.

leeky

« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2007, 00:01 »
wow! thanks all for the replies.

thats cleared that one up good and proper.

There are several double glazing factories around here (where arent there  :lol: ) and they leave their seconds or bad ones outside or in the skips.  I'll be making a trip or two then!  :wink:

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums