A few questions

• 4 Replies

rogertb

• Experienced Member
A few questions
« on: June 22, 2018, 09:30 »
Hi chaps I have a new allotment so this is my first year at this location, the soil is pretty poor and very stoney so I will get a load of muck in the winter ... I have put a few things in and some are good others not so good: nothing to do with the soil but black fly seem to have got stuck into the b/beans and rhubarb, is there any non chemical solution and is it too late (I tried soapy water with no success) ... the squash seems a little stunted and yellow, is this lack of water ? and the onions seem a bit 'skinny' is it too early to worry ?
IMG_0368.jpg
IMG_0371.jpg
IMG_0370.jpg
IMG_0369.jpg

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
Re: A few questions
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2018, 10:23 »
The onions aren't too bad but the yellow leaves on the courgette would indicate lack of available nitrogen or possibly magnesium deficiency - I'd try some Miracle Gro on the courgette (I meant squash). I know, I know, it's not organic but neither am I. I use artificial fertilisers sparingly as a medicine when I need to quickly sort a nutrient problem.

Not had blackfly on rhubarb - WOW! Actually I wouldn't worry too much about the blackfly, I don't think they do as much harm as some would have you believe if the plant is basically healthy and strong. Since we can't get Derris  :( anymore I'd try SB Invigorator which is organic and effective.

Adding some muck this winter will help no end for next year - do check the pH though, acid soils stop the plants taking up available nutrients. Lime part, muck part and in a year or two you'll transform the plot.
Check out our books - ideal presents

John and Val Harrison's Books

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2018, 10:31 »